“ALL THE BEAUTY AND THE BLOODSHED” won three more prizes – cpn

“ALL THE BEAUTY AND THE BLOODSHED” won three more prizes today

A big Critics awards day today the night before Oscar begins voting on its finalist lists for the categories that use that process (i.e. not the ones that get the most press). After the jump one of the three most important critics associations, Los Angeles Film Critics Association, plus the enduring and usually interesting Boston Society of Film Critics, and the relatively new group New York Film Critics Online (not to be confused with the biggie, NYFCC, which already announced).

Today’s three critics groups had some similaries but agreed unanimously on two things: Ke Huy Quan for Best Supporting Actor and All the Beauty and the Bloodshed for Best Documentary. We’re happiest of course with complete disagreements since TFE loves the spreading of wealth. Best Animated Feature and Best Supporting Actress for example, resulted in a different winner at each of these orgs. Winners and a few comments are after the jump…


They first began handing out annual prizes in 1975. Their annual awards banquet will be held on January 14th, 2023. Though they reduced their number of acting prizes, they are now doubling up on winners so there will be the same amount of winners as their previously was.

FILM [TIE] Everything Everywhere All At Once and TÁR
DIRECTOR Todd Field, TÁR (runner up: S.S. Rajamouli, RRR)
LEAD PERFORMER Cate Blanchett, TÁR and Bill Nighy, Living (runners up: Danielle Deadwyler, Till and Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All At Once)
SUPPORTING PERFORMER Dolly De Leon, Triangle of Sadness and Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once (runners up: Jessie Buckley, Women Talking and Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway)

Hmmm, maybe you’re doing gender-free acting categories wrong if you name one female and one male winner for each category, as if you still had four categories. Just saying. This is not to condone or condemn doing it either way, it just seems like they’re trying to do both at once which is… awkward.

SCREENPLAY Todd Field, TÁR (runner up: Martin McDonagh, Banshees of Inisherin)
CINEMATOGRAPHY Michal Dymek, EO (runner up: Hoyte Van Hoytema, Nope)

EDITING Blair McClendon, Aftersun (runner up: Monika Willi, Tár)
PRODUCTION DESIGN Dylan Cole & Ben Procter, Avatar The Way of Water (runner up: Jason Kisvarday, Everything Everywhere All At Once)
ORIGINAL SCORE M.M. Keeravani, RRR (runner up: Pawel Mykietyn, EO)

INTERNATIONAL FEATURE EO (Poland) (runner up: Saint Omer, France)
ANIMATED FEATURE Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio (runner up: Marcel the Shell With Shoes On)
DOCUMENTARY FEATURE All the Beauty and the Bloodshed (runner up: Fire of Love)
NEW GENERATION Davy Chou & Park Ji-Min, Return to Seoul

It’s the first prize for new filmmakers that hasn’t gone to Charlotte Wells for Aftersun! Davy Chou is the director behind Cambodia’s Oscar submission which is about a French-Korean woman (played by Park Ji-Min in her screen debut) travelling to South Korea for the first time since she was a baby.

EXPERIMENTAL FILM De Humani Corporis Fabrica


“RETURN TO SEOUL” wins big at BSFC

The Boston Society of Film Critics began handing out awards in 1980 (Raging Bull was their first winner). This is the fifth time they’ve given a subtitled picture their top prize. The previous winners that weren’t primarily in English were Pixote (1981, Portuguese), Night of the Shooting Stars (1983, Italian), Ran (1985, Japanese), and Drive My Car (2021, Japanese).

FILM Return to Seoul (If an international title wins this, they then select a winner for Best English Language Film rather than choosing a winner for Best Foreign Film)
ENGLISH LANGUAGE FILM Banshees of Inisherin
ACTRESS Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All At Once
ACTOR Colin Farrell, Banshees of Inisherin and After Yang
SUPPORTING ACTRESS Kerry Condon, Banshees of Inisherin
SUPPORTING ACTOR Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once
ENSEMBLE [TIE] Women Talking and Jackass Forever

A great showing for The Banshees of Inisherin, and an amusing tie for Ensemble.

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY Martin McDonagh, Banshees of Inisherin
CINEMATOGRAPHY Earl Rockett, Pearl and X
Nice to see a deviation from Top Gun Maverick picking up all the cinematography prizes.

EDITING [TIE] Blair McClendon, Aftersun and Kim Sang-bum, Decision to Leave
Very exciting decision here after six rounds of votes. Blair McClendon’s intuitive emotionally charged cutting of memoir and Kim Sang-bum’s exciting editing of the thrills and twists of a mystery.

ORIGINAL SCORE RRR (For some reason they listed a runner up here — Women Talking — which they did not announce for other categories)

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE Laura Poitras, All the Beauty of the Bloodshed
NEW FILMMAKER Charlotte Wells, Aftersun

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.